McFadden Memorial Lecture


Jump to: navigation, search
Indianapolis, IN
The 33rd Annual McFadden Memorial Lecture
The Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation, Inc. was established in 1969 to promote the development and improvement of Library facilities and services, and to support and enhance Library programs and projects by raising private contributions. All gifts to the Library Foundation assure the continuation of support for children’s reading programs, lecture series, and other special events and programs presented by the Library for the benefit of the community.

The Marian McFadden Memorial Lecture Series was established after the Library Foundation received a gift from the estate of Marian McFadden, Director of Public Libraries from 1945-1956. This annual author lecture series was named in her honor. This year, we are proud to receive additional support from The Patricia Cornwell Foundation and the estates of Jack A. and Edith L. Hunter. Ms. Cornwell was the 2006 Marian McFadden Memorial Lecture speaker. Mr. and Mrs. Hunter's estate gifts were made in memory of Edith's sisters, Elizabeth I. Evans and Gladys Evans Grandy, teachers whose working lives were devoted to the Indianapolis Public Elementary Schools.

North Central High School Auditorium
Indianapolis, IN

List of All McFadden Lecturers

-2010 Neil Gaimen

-2009 Nicholas Sparks [1]

-2008 Eric Carle [2]

-2007 Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. [3] – delivered by Mark Vonnegut [4]

-2006 Patricia Cornwell [5]

-2005 Marc Brown [6]

-2004 John Irving [7]

-2003 Louis Sachar [8]

-2002 David McCullough [9]

-2001 Tomie dePaola [10]

-2000 Doris Kearns Goodwin [11]

-1999 Judy Blume [12]

-1998 Margaret Atwood [13]

-1997 Jon Scieszka [14] & Lane Smith [15]

-1996 Amy Tan [16]

-1995 Gary Paulsen [17]

-1994 William Styron [18]

-1993 Chris Van Allsburg [19]

-1992 Gail Godwin [20]

-1991 Maurice Sendak [21]

-1990 John Updike [22]

-1989 David Macaulay [23]

-1988 Tom Wolfe [24]

-1987 Lloyd Alexander [25]

-1986 Kurt Vonnegut [26]

-1985 Jean Fritz [27]

-1984 James Baldwin [28]

-1983 Richard Peck [29]

-1982 Gail Sheehy [30]

-1981 Scott O’Dell [31]

-1980 Norman Mailer [32]

-1979 Elaine L. Konigsburg [33]

-1978 Saul Bellow [34]

Fun Facts

At the lecture Mr. Gaiman was late to the stage because of a distracting bit of signage. An old box of switches neatly labeled with the words. "These switches do nothing"

Personal tools