Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Award for Literature

From neilgaiman.info

Jump to: navigation, search

In celebration of those whose literary works uniquely document and define the human condition, the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library [1] has created its own national literary award named after the City's renowned literary son, the late Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

The first recipient of the esteemed "Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Award for Literature" is the award's namesake, widely regarded as a master of contemporary American literature and a major shaper [sic] of how the late 20th century views itself.

In 2007, the inaugural award was presented posthumously to its namesake during the McFadden Lecture given by Mark Vonnegut in his late father's place. Two other past McFadden lecturers were presented the award in 2007, young adult authors Louis Sachar and Richard Peck.


The Vonnegut Award, a custom-designed metal sculpture inscribed with Vonnegut's famous self-portrait, was created as a tribute to the City's own legendary literary son. It is presented each year to an important national or international literary figure who presents the McFadden Lecture. [[2]]

In 2009 it was awarded to Nicholas Sparks.

In 2010 it was awarded to Neil Gaiman when he was the presenter at the McFadden Memorial Lecture

Sources [3] [4]

Personal tools